Concert Works

mp3's of concert works below

All of these works are available for rental or purchase - please email inquires to: (Jeff's publishing company is Post Meridian Music, BMI)

THE GENERAL (commissioned by The Commission Project). A new full orchestral score for the Buster Keaton classic silent film. Premiered by the FSU Philharmonic in 2003.. More info

FEAR OF FALLING IN LOVE (commissioned by The Debussy Trio), premiered March, 2004. For Flute, Viola, Harp, in 2 movements (appx dur. 12 minutes)

CLARINET CONCERTO (commissioned by The Commission Project), Premiered by Larry Combs, principal clarinetist of the Chicago Symphony. Also has been performed by Eddie Daniels, Paquito D'Rivera. Two Versions available - 1) Clarinet Solo with Concert Band 2) Clarinet Solo with Orchestra. (Note, for improvising soloist, doubling on soprano sax in the 2nd movement, although can be played on clarinet completely, as well)
MP3s - Eddie Daniels w/the Houston Youth Symphony:

1. Riches To Rags
2. Famines To Feasts

INTERCHANGE, for string quartet and orchestra (commissioned by Berkeley Symphony, for the Turtle Island String Quartet), Premiered by the same, with Kent Nagano, cond. Subsequently recorded by the Detroit Symphony, available on Chandos records (amazon link here). Also performed by the St. Louis, Pacific, Frankfurt, Munich Symphonies. In 4 movements.
MP3 Excerpts: Detroit Symphony/Turtle Island String Quartet:
1. Introductions 2. Dialog 3. I Solisti 4. Tutti

THINGS UNSEEN , String Quartet. Written for and premiered by the amazing Ying Quartet (Quartet in residence at the Eastman School). In 4 movements. (commissioned by The Commission Project)
MP3s - Ying String Quartet, premiere performance:
1. Ghosts 2.Spirits 3.Angels 4.Gnomes

RED SHIFT , Concerto For Orchestra Commissioned by and Premiered by the Metropole Orchestra (Netherlands). 8 movements
-Metropole Orchestra, Cond. By Jeff Beal:
1. Red Shift 2. Fractal Speak 3. Langsam In Lausanne 4. Spin 5. Rudy's Revenge 6. Repose 7. Intermezzo 8. Lost In Space

CONCERTO FOR JAZZ BASS & ORCHESTRA Written for and recorded by John Patitucci, CD available here. For chamber orchestra, and solo electric & acoustic bass. 3 Movements.
mp3 excerpts, perf. by John Patitucci:
1. Westward Expansion 2.After The Storm 3. Mardi Gras

THE UNCLUTTERED PATH, Brass quintet. Commissioned to mark the 150th anniversary of the Corning Corporation. Premiered and recorded by Prism Brass. In 4 movements.
MP3s - Performed by Prism Brass:
1. Dawn Of A New Day 2. Permanence Of Change 3. Fathers & Sons 4. Illumination

ALTERNATE ROUTE , for trumpet and orchestra. Premiered by the Berkeley Symphony, with Jeff Beal (soloist) and Kent Nagano (conductor). In 4 movements, North, South, East, West. Cd available here.
MP3 excerpts, perf. by Jeff Beal & The Berkeley Symphony: 1. North 4. West

MARIMBA CONCERTO, written for and premiered by Dave Samuels. In 4 movements- Version for Concert Band with soloist available.
MP3 Excerpts - Performed by Dave Samuels
1. Industrial Revolution 2. New Room 3. Prime Mover 4. Doppler Effect

4 WORKS FOR CELLO QUARTET, written for and recorded by "CELLO"
Six Mile Creek The Visionary Bela In Blue Samba Del Sol

THREE LEGGED RACE, Commissioned and premiered by the Mancini Institute (overture length orchestral work)

WRIGHT SUITE, Commissioned by The Commission Project. This clarinet/string quartet work was written for Clarinetist Eddie Daniels.